Careful What You Wish For…

Today marks a few things for me…  It’s the first day of summer and I LOVE the summer. It’s the first day of my “break” (as a teacher I love having off 2 1/2 months!) It’s the first time I’ve ever been fired.

Yes, fired.

I’ve held many jobs. Many. Not just a few – MANY.

I’ve been a tour guide, translator, curator, shop owner, artist, writer, editor, llama caretaker, dog walker, vet tech, kids yoga instructor, history department director, interior designer , photographer and teacher – Some of that list is still true today (I traded in the llama work for a large set of pets at our house but I’d go back to that llama farm in heartbeat!). But I’ve never been fired from any of those jobs.

Back to First Day o’ summer.

As a teacher and parent, summers are FUN. They’re relaxing- well, they should be. But for the past few summers I’ve found them not restful or relaxing at all. In fact, I’ve found them incredibly stressful. I’ve clung to a job that I can’t stand. I hate it (and I don’t use “hate” almost ever in my vocab!). I mean this job just was the worst. I lamented about it every week. My husband had to deal with me crying and stressing over it.

What was it? A stupid merchandising job for some hot-shot athletic companies. It sucked. I ran home to get reports done, not having time to make dinner or be with my daughter. I had not time to blog, grade papers, read for myself. I dragged my family on rides to never-never land in order to take photos for these absurd reports. We held picnics in the car so we could get more done – including meals – for this ridiculous job. I never looked forward to any of it.

Why? Yes, I did it for the lovely paycheck that came to me every two weeks. That check helped us a LOT. It gave us the ability to pay our cars without digging into other funds. But I didn’t like the way I got the money. I didn’t appreciate anything about the job, or, in fact, the money that came with it. I wanted it dead. I wanted my job to just evaporate into space or blow up like a bomb.

And… I got just that. I got exactly what I wished for. I got an email that said “thank you for your services, but they are no longer needed.” I wanted to cry and jump for joy. I didn’t want to tell my husband, but he was happy it was finally over too.

I have a sense of freedom now. I learned my lesson – in fact, I never tell anyone to work at what they don’t enjoy doing. I didn’t take my own advice. I fought it for a lousy paycheck. I’m happy I got what I wished for. I’m thankful.

I can go back to some of the jobs I like again – the artist, the photographer and the writer. In fact, I’m back to those already. I have some wonderful plans for my family this summer. I’m also making some new wishes… much BETTER ones too.

Leave a Reply

